Project Defending Life Calls on City Councilors to Adopt Ordinance

Project Defending Life Calls on City Councilors to Adopt Ordinance

August 29, 2013

Albuquerque, NM- On Wednesday, August 28th the Albuquerque City Clerk confirmed that the required 12,091 signatures had been certified to ensure that the Pain Capable Unborn Child Protection ordinance will enter into the next phase of the City Charter’s process. “This is true progress for New Mexico, in a state where abortions are being performed through all nine months of pregnancy on viable babies who would survive outside the womb if born. This ordinance is the least we can do to give a measure of protection to both women and children,” stated Tara Shaver.

The ordinance has now been given to the Albuquerque City Councilors. They have 14 days to act or ignore this measure. This is the process set forth in the Albuquerque city charter, the councilors have the legal right to adopt this ordinance outright. However, if they ignore it then according to the process the measure will go to the people for a ballot vote.

The people of Albuquerque have let their voices be heard in support of this bill, 26,900 signatures were submitted to the city clerk in just 20 days.

“It is clear that the people in this city want late term abortions to end, in fact 2/3 of Americans support the ’20 week fetal pain ban’ and understandably so, late term abortions are indefensible. The people who made this effort possible do not want to see this measure ignored, late term abortion has been ignored long enough in Albuquerque,” stated Tara Shaver.

Project Defending Life is calling on City Council President Dan Lewis, who is also a local Pastor, to present this to the city council for a vote to adopt this ordinance within the next 14 days. City officials have the responsibility to act and to ensure the safety of all of those residing within their jurisdiction. The American people are looking for leaders that will represent them boldly and uphold their wishes. We ask nothing less than what the city councilors were elected for and that is to represent the people of Albuquerque.
lewis

Our city councilors have a chance to make history in our city, please urge them to do so.

To find out who your city councilor is click here. You may contact them all though.

Councilor Ken Sanchez:kensanchez@cabq.gov
Telephone: (505) 768-3183

Councilor Roxanna Meyers:rmeyers@cabq.gov
Telephone: (505) 768-3159

Councilor Isaac Benton: ibenton@cabq.gov
Telephone: (505) 768-3186

Councilor Brad Winter: bwinter@cabq.gov
Telephone: (505) 768-3101

Councilor Dan Lewis: danlewis@cabq.gov
Telephone: (505) 768-3189

Councilor Rey Garduño: reygarduno@cabq.gov
Telephone: (505) 768-3136

Councilor Janice Arnold-Jones: jarnold-jones@cabq.gov
Telephone: (505) 768-3136

Councilor Trudy Jones: trudyjones@cabq.gov
Telephone: (505) 768-3106

Councilor Don Harris: dharris@cabq.gov
Telephone: (505) 768-3123

Share Button

Follow Me

Leave a Reply

ajleeonline.com